Public Figures, Authors and Politicians

Thaddeus Stevens

Thaddeus Stevens

Alice Roosevelt Longworth

Alice Roosevelt Longworth

A. Philip Randolph Autograph

A. Philip Randolph

Thurgood Marshall Autograph

Thurgood Marshall

John Hope Franklin Autograph

John Hope Franklin

Edward W. Brooke Autograph

Edward W. Brooke

Bob and Elizabeth Dole

Bob Dole

Alexander Haig

Alexander Haig

L Douglas Wilder Autograph

L. Douglas Wilder

Ted Kennedy

Ted Kennedy

James H. Meredith Autograph

James H. Meredith

Bob and Elizabeth Dole

Elizabeth Dole

Colin Powell Autograph

Colin Powell

Tom Brokaw Autograph

Tom Brokaw

Alfred A. Moss Autograph

Alfred A. Moss

Thaddeus Stevens (1792-1868) was a member of the United States House of Representatives from Pennsylvania and one of the leaders of the Radical Republican faction of the Republican Party during the 1860s.

Alice Lee Roosevelt Longworth (1884-1980) was an American writer and prominent socialite.  She was the eldest child of U.S. President Theodore Roosevelt and only child to his first wife, Alice Hathaway Lee.

Asa Philip Randolph (1889-1979) was a leader in the Civil Rights Movement, the American labor movement and socialist political parties.  In 1925 he organized the first predeominantly African-American labor union, the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters.

Thurgood Marshall (1908-1993) was an American lawyer who served as Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States from October 1967 until October 1991.  He was the 96hth justice and 1st African-American justice.

John Hope Franklin (1915-2009) was the James B. Duke Professor Emeritus at Duke University and co-author of From Slavery to Freedom: A History of African Americans.

Edward William Brooke, III (1919-2015) was an American Republican politician.  In 1966 he became the first African-American popularly elected to the U.S. Senate.

Robert Joseph Dole (1923-) is a retired American politician and attorney.  He represented Kansas in the U.S. House of Representatives (1961-1969) and U.S. Senate (1969-1996).  He served in the U.S. Army during World War II (1942-1948) and was awarded the Bronze Star and Purple Heart.

Alexander Haig (1924-2010) was White House Chief of Staff under presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford and was the U.S. Secretary of State under President Ronald Reagan.

Lawrence Douglas Wilder (1931-), an American lawyer and politician, was the 66th Governor of Virginia from 1990 to 1994.  He was the first African American to serve as Governor of a U.S. State since Reconstruction.

Edward Moore Kennedy (1932-2009), better kwnon as Ted, was an American politician who served in the U.S. Senate from Massachusetts for almost 47 years, from 1962 until his death in 2009.

James Howard Meredith (1933-) is an African-American Civil Rights Movement figure, best known as the first African –American student to enroll at the University of Mississippi on October 1, 1962.

Mary Elizabeth Alexander Hanford Dole (1936-) is an American politician and author.  She served in the administrations of Richard Nixon, Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush.  She served as a U.S. Senator, representing North Carolina, from 2003 to 2009.

Colin Powell (1937-) is an American statesman and retired four-star General in the United States Army.  He served as the 65th United States Secretary of State from 2001-2005 under President George W. Bush.

Tom Brokaw (1940-) is an American television journalist and author, best known as the anchor and managing editor of the NBC Nightly News for 22 years.

Alfred A. Moss, Jr. (1943-) is Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of History, University of Maryland and co-author of From Slavery to Freedom: A History of African Americans.

Public Figures, Authors and Politicians